Scuba of Death

20 Feb

By Sammi Stern
8th Grade

I jump into the crisp ocean, ready for the swim of a lifetime. My wetsuit and oxygen tank are connected to my body as if another organ. I tug on the rope once to let them know I’m okay. I see the brightest colors in the world scattered on fish and coral. I glide alongside an octopus. I slowly crash onto the ocean floor and let the sand settle. I take a while just to appreciate where I am. I let the sunbeams dance on my hands.

My serene surrounding soon turns into a crime scene as water begins to flood my mask. I gasp for my last breath of air. I try to tug the rope but I’m already turning blue. So I stop struggling and let the tide take me.

Leave a Reply

