The Rumor

28 Jan

By Emma
4th Grade

Tom was my friend. He had the smell of grass. Every time I thought of him he made me think of nature. He was a tall boy, very skinny, and always wore mud on his shirt, a warm smile, tennis shoes, and glasses. I enjoyed him, but a deep voice came from deep down inside him, which made me feel skittish. “Homeless,” people called him, though I didn’t think he was. One day a rumor went around, saying, “The skinny bean, Tom, is stupid and helpless.” He even got a sock in the nose. Nobody will ever talk to him again. Oh poor Tom.

Leave a Reply

