The Locked Door

22 Nov

By Sequoyah
4th Grade

My cousins and I were playing a game. My younger cousin was five. My older cousin was seven-and-a-half, and I was eight. We ran upstairs.

My little cousin ran into my room and slammed the door. I turned the knob. The door was locked. I waited five seconds and wiggled the knob again. Still locked.

I called my dad and told my younger cousin to turn the lock. The door didn’t budge. I hoped she would not get stuck in there forever. I told her to turn the lock on the doorknob. She asked me where the doorknob was. I sighed. She is never going to get out at this speed, I thought.

At that very moment, my dad rushed up the stairs as fast as lightning with tools to get my cousin out. A wave of relief washed over me.

Leave a Reply

