Trouble

11 Sep

By Ayla Bennett
5th Grade

My name is Rose. I am ten years old and I am brave, a troublemaker, and adventurous. You can call me Trouble, Rose, or Troublemaker. I’ve been called those names a thousand times.

One time, when I was five, I snuck secretly onto a horse and rode at the edge of a canyon and my horse bucked me into the canyon. We were in the desert at the time. I went into the canyon screaming for my mom and dad. the canyon as very rocky. I had the smell and taste of rock in my mouth. I somehow got hold of a root (it was a very large root) and pulled up, up, and up, till I was at the edge of the canyon. I got up with the help of my parents. It was very scary. But that’s not here my real story begins…

My story starts at school. I also have this very secret desire. My very secret desire is to have a friend. Just one. By the way, I have a British accent. Can you imagine that? I have never had a friend. Not one. Sometimes trouble finds me instead of me seeking it. As you can tell, I am very random. Now I shall tell you my story.

I sleep at school. It’s true. I don’t really like it, but my parents make me. It’s because they have too much work to do. Sometimes I have to do detention on the weekends! I definitely do not like detention on the weekends. It is way harder on the weekend. I have to grade papers sometimes, which makes me crazy. I hate it.

Okay, on with the story. On the first day of school, I came in with all the supplies I needed, although they were only for doodling. I’m a great doodler if I do say so myself. This is one of my doodles:

mushroom

So, as I was saying, on the first day of school, I got in trouble for showing up. Yeah, it’s a great way to get in trouble. Not. Now I have to go to the principal’s office. Just great. Oh well. Last year I went one hundred times! Amazing how I get in trouble so much.

I was walking down the dimly lit hallway at school when something shiny caught my eye. I took a close look. It smelled as if it came out of the ground. I picked it up. It was very sharp. “Achhh!” I said. I cut myself on the small object. “It think it’s a crystal,” I murmured. Still holding the crystal, I slowly turned around, not noticing the people around me.

“Hey!” said a boy I did not know. “That girl’s got the principal’s lost crystal!”

Uh-oh, I thought.

“Get ‘er!”

At that, I ran for my life. I ran past most of the teachers, past the aides, through the doors, and onto the playground. It was brighter than I expected and the air tasted fresh. But there was no time to enjoy it. I had to run! There was a little girl with pigtails on the playground. I ran across the wood chips so fast a wood chip flew into my mouth. It tasted like old, new, dirty, and clean shoes all mixed together. It as disgusting. I spit it out.

I pushed the secret button on the playground (It’s on a pole, but I will tell you nothing more) and went into my secret hideout. It wasn’t much: a comfortable chair, a stack of books, and a lamp. I heard a conversation going on, but first I noticed that it smelled damp down there. Good, I thought. Now it won’t collapse like it did before.

“Where did she go, little girl, where?”

“She went down dare.”

“Down where?”

“Down dare beneef da last pole on da wight.”

Uh-oh, I thought. Now that they know, I’m in big trouble. I came out of the secret hideout and handed them the crystal. “Now, to the principal’s office, young lady. Now shoo!” I went to the principal’s office again.

“You know you have detention tonight, Miss Rose.”

“Yes, I know, but—”

“Good then. Now off you go.”

“But I don’t even have any friends!”

“I know that, Miss Rose, and I’d like to keep it that way.”

“I really want one tho—”

“I already knew that, Rose. Now get out of my office!!!”

Talk about a mad principal. This one was mad! She usually calls everyone Miss or Mister, but she really got mad at me this time! She basically, um—what’s the word?—blew up on me. Well, that conversation was harsh.

Instinctively, I went to detention with a notebook and pencil. To doodle with, you know? “Today we are going to blah, blah, blah, blah, blah…” This is what I drew:

Principal

I knew I was supposed to write “I will not argue with the principal” one hundred times, but I had other plans. I waited until the teacher went around the corner and out of sight. I then quickly and quietly snuck out of the room. My “other plans” were to drop eggs on all the teachers’ heads while they were all teaching. Perfect plan to get lots of friends ’cause most everybody hates teachers. Right?

Lucky me, I had lots of eggs. So I thought I would just go to my grade, which was 5th. My grade had many people, which was good. When I finally got to my grade, I already smelled like egg. I also looked way messier than usual. I had glops of egg on me everywhere. It’s because I practiced on a few kids in the hallway. I snuck into class with no one looking (unusual luck) and dropped five eggs on my teacher. SPLAT. Now everyone was looking directly at me.

“Why’d you do that?!” said one kid.

“I love all teachers, so be nice!” said another.

“I hate you!!” said a girl.

“I think you’re cruel to teachers!” said a boy.

“Everybody, quiet!” said my teacher. “This girl,” she said, pointing her finger at me, “is absolutely the worst.”

And the class cheered.

I’ll tell you about the next day after the egg-splatting event. Everybody hated me. I mean everybody. Everywhere I went people yelled, “Hey, teacher-hater!” The teachers even told our preschool about it!” Everybody in this school is the worst, I thought. I was too sad to even think about school! I decided to go to the main office to call my mom or dad to pick me up.

As I was walking down the hall, all the teachers stopped to stare. All the students whispered about me. As I walked into the office, the lady at the desk answered, “Yes?”

And I replied, “Can I call my mom and dad?”

She said in a harsh tone, “No, you may not!” You are the worst! Now shoo!”

And I did just what she told me to.

When I left, I was looking at the ground. So I didn’t see the girl. I bumped into her.

“Hey, watch where you’re going,” she said.

“Sorry,” I said, looking up just barely.

I didn’t realize who she was at fist, but I learned later on that she was really nice. She smelled like dirt a bit.

I passed the lit bulletin board. Wait, the lights were shining? I took a closer look. There was something new! There was a picture of the girl I saw earlier. Some words around her said:

Robin Has Returned To School After A
15-Week Disappearance

How mysterious! I’m not a detective or anything, but I am definitely going to investigate this! Was she at spy school? Was she on a vry long trip? Did she learn ho to talk to animals?

I found her scent. It smells like dirt, remember? I followed the scent to the girls bathroom, into the gym, into the kindergarten classroom (yes, my nose is on the ground) and onto the playground.

I sniffed everywhere on the playground, but the only place I found her scent was on the secret hideout button. I pushed it, and went in. Robin was in there. Who would have thought Robin would be in there? I mean, did she see, or did she know? I didn’t know! Did she see me because she’s a spy? I didn’t really know. But this was freaky!

I didn’t know why, but she didn’t notice me there! Was she deaf? Maybe she had become deaf.

“Hi, Robin.”

“Hi—Oh, you again.”

“My name’s Rose.”

“I knew that, troublemaker.”

“Wanna be friends?”

“Of course not! Friends with you would be the worst. I mean, you’re the troublemaker, right?”

“Yes, and proud of it!”

“Well, you shouldn’t be, because I hate troublemakers! And I mean it! I HATE TROUBLEMAKERS!!”

“I never knew people felt that way towards me,” I said in a shaky voice.

“I…wha…I didn’t mean to say tha—”

“Forget it.”

And I ran out of the not-so-secret-hideout-anymore as fast as my legs could carry me.

School was horrible. I had more detention than usual, and Robin was always trying to talk to me when no one was around. I just walked away and ignored her. Sometimes, I wondered if she was trying to be friends with me, but I always pushed that thought away until I came home on a detention-free night.

This is how the conversation went:

“Mom?”

“Yes, sweetie?”

“At school, this girl named Robin, well, she got mad at me, and now keeps on trying to say something to me, but I don’t listen. What should I do?”

“Sweetie, all you have to do is listen. I do it all the time.”

“Thanks for the advice, Mom.”

“You’re welcome. Now go to bed.”

“Okay. Race you to me room!”

We raced up and down the stairs all night, till Dad said, “All right, you two, time for bed.” And we went straight to sleep.

The next day at school, Robin came up to me again and said, “Hey, I’m sorry for what I did.”

She stopped there and seemed to be waiting for me to say something, so I said, “I accept your apology, and I’m sorry I didn’t listen.”

“Good,” she replied.

I could tell she liked me a little, which was a first. I mean, she’d have to get used to me.

The day after that, I found a way to disturb my class. There were a few people walking next to my desk. I stuck my leg out and tripped the last person that was walking in so it was like dominoes. First the last person fell over, all the way to the first person.

“Miss Rose, why, I ask, did you do that?” the teacher said.

“To have a little fun I guess.”

“We do not trip peo—”

“She didn’t trip them, they tripped themselves,” Robin said.

“I did not know. Back to work, children!”

I mouthed “Thank you” to Robin, who winked at me.

At lunch, I went over and sat down next to her. Lunch smelled good.

“Hey, Robin, thanks for saving me back there.”

“You’re welcome.”

“You want to be friends?”

“Not yet, I need to learn more about you first.”

“Okay.”

Yes! First possible friend ever! I was the happiest Rose on the planet Rose! If there was a planet Rose. If I had thorns that were my emotions, this is what they would have looked like:

Rose

The next few days weren’t that important. Robin and I just argued about whether we should be friends. Only one argument was important though:

“Can we be friends now, Robin?”

“I’m still getting used to you, Rose. You know that.”

“Come on. I’ve been waiting for this moment ever since I started school!”

“Patience, Rose, patience.”

“I just can’t wait, Robin!”

“Just wait already, Rose!”

“FINE!”

One time, during show-and-tell time for our favorite poems, I brought in The Meehoo with an Exactlywatt. Robin laughed at the end of the poem. I think she thought it was quite silly.

Some kids at recess were crowding around me, kicking me really hard, then falling backward, screaming in fake pain. I fell over at the last kick. They had broken my shin! One teacher saw what really happened. Fire exploded in my shin. I couldn’t even make a sound, it hurt so much. The teacher herded us into her car and drove us to the hospital.

When I awoke, my leg as in a cast and there were crutches beside my bed. I was in a doctor-smelling, very bright room. I sat up.

“You fell asleep on the car ride,” Robin said. “I came back in to tell you we have to go back to school.”

“Okay, but when did I wake up?”

“Three in the morning.”

At school, Robin made her decision. “Rose,”  she said, “can we be friends?”

“Of course,” I said.

And we held hands (sort of) for the rest of the day. While I was on crutches.

THE END

Leave a Reply

