Never Easy

18 Feb

A young writer’s song

by Des Ponce                                         

 

(1)                                                                   

Wondering where I went wrong

How could I be so blind

You gave me a home you took me in

Claimed me as your own

 

(2)

Now I sit here in regret

Everything else begins to fade

People are standing over me saying

don’t fret

 

(3)

I’ve been running for so long

Pushing away seemed to be the only

solution

It’s too late   I admit I was wrong

 

(Chorus)

Never easy to let go

Times limited to say good-bye

I’m reaching out for your hand

You’re too weak to meet mine

Don’t tell me I have to say good-bye

 

Pain is all you feel right now

Struggle to breathe   I’ll struggle to speak

I’m sorry

 

(4)

Soon memories will be all that’s left

you loved me dearly

I just couldn’t understand

 

Don’t tell me I have to say good-bye

 

(5)

They say everyone moves on

I’m not ready to admit

maybe it’s yours too

 

(6)

I just wish I did better by you

Never forgetting nothing hurts worse

till it’s gone

(Never Easy Continued stanza break)

 

(2x)

So here I stand falling to pieces

I’m beggin please don’t leave me

 

(Chorus)

Never easy to let go

Times limited to say good-bye

I’m reaching out for your hand

You’re too weak to meet mine

Don’t tell me I have to say good-bye

 

Pain is all you feel right now

Struggle to breathe   I’ll struggle to speak

I’m sorry

 

(2x)

So here I stand   breathe in deep

feel your heart beat

forever you’ll be my hero

 

Silence falls   I’m rising tall

 

I’m beggin please

I’m beggin please

 

Never easy to say good-bye

 

 

 

-Des Ponce

Leave a Reply

