Wait for Me

1 Sep

By Cassidy Cole
8th Grade

She once told me that the stars are holes in the sky, that they are the light of heaven coming from the other side, and someday, every single person would all be on the other side, where the light comes from. She said if you really tried, you could count the lights from heaven. She then would tell me to hold on to the grass or you could be lifted up straight from the ground, and there you’ll be, yet another light from heaven glittering through the holes in the sky. Wait for me, I would yell, Wait for me

I guess she loosened her grip on the grass that one morning, and she was quite mercifully lifted through the holes in the sky, but left her world on the other side a shallow stream, smoky, murky and bewildered. Wait for me, I would yell, wait for me.

When I was little, I remember never being able to sleep when I was in Suwannee, Georgia, always worried she would go somewhere without me. Fighting the sleep in my eyes and the haze outside, I would peer my little head through the window every few minutes to see if her white Lexus was still parked in the fog of her driveway. When I saw her, I would come running, tripping over my own feet and the patches of grass soaked with humidity and dismal mud. “Wait for me” I would yell. “Wait for me…” Stupid grass. Too weak. Just too weak. Why did she leave without me? Why did she let go of that grass? Was it too bristle, to dry? Wait for me, I would yell, wait for me.

A nightmare doesn’t quite faze me, the idea of a dream becoming so real is what frightens me. Christmas Eve, I saw her face, etched in clouds, cheekbones so prominent against her lilac lips and her eyes the most poised shade of blue. Her toes enveloped in the spun-out grass, the sun-rays slipped off the tip of her nose, she smelled of rain, damp hair, and slippery skin. It was if she was a goldfish in a world of water; you could never tell if she was crying…Wait for me, I would yell, wait for me.

Why do people have to die? Have to cry? I was with her, her fragile smile, her graceful laugh, and the idea of my world without her ever-sketched itself, never crossed my mind. Lights were strung on roofs, branches of Christmas trees lay on gifts with bows tightly strung around them, and empty plates with cookie crumbs filled houses. The snow covered the grass that one day, and my world without her in it was literal: shady, bitter, and bleak. Wait for me, I would yell, wait for me.

She once told me that the stars are the holes in the sky, the light of heaven spilling though. The lights shine brighter now and the stars are more than few.

Death may leave a heartache no one can heal, she said, but love leaves a memory no one can steal.

Wait for me, I would yell, wait for me…

Leave a Reply

