The Math Test

8 Apr

By Ana Vega
3rd Grade

It was a normal day until I got my test back. It was horrible. This ruined my whole day. I felt as if I was going to cry. I felt as if I was going to cry so hard, harder than I cried ever before. I was bummed out. I just acted happy so nobody would come questioning, like, “Why are you sad? Why are you crying?” because that annoys me so much.

When it was time to go to recess that got my mind off it. But when I got more graded papers it reminded me of my math test. I felt so mad. Then I felt so bored, so that got my mind off it again.

I was walking in the front door. I heard it squeak. I changed into my PJs. I did my homework. When I finished it, I started watching TV. But I remembered something: I had to give my papers to my dad. I did, but I was still holding the last ones. I was scared to give them to my dad.

The grade was bad. I got eight wrong on the test. It was a C. I never got a C before. My heart was beating fast and my palms were sweaty. I tasted my tears. I went to the bathroom to wash off my tears.

When I came out, I saw the tables and my brothers. When I looked down I saw my shoes. When I raised my head I saw my dad waiting for me in the kitchen. When I passed by it I heard my mom and dad talking and I smelled their perfume. And I heard and smelled my mom’s food. I hugged my mom and dad. I touched the table and sat down in the chair. I felt mad for some reason. I heard myself crying again. My mom started sweeping. I tasted and smelled dust. I saw my dad in front of me. I tasted my dry mouth with some saliva and air.

I feel as safe with my dad as the sun in the sky. But now I felt nervous and embarrassed. I didn’t think, “I’m gonna do a good job.” I felt in danger. I had lots of fear. I haven’t ever before given my dad bad grades. I thought my dad was going to be angry. I also thought that he was going to take my things away. I thought I could hide it from him, but that wouldn’t be something right to do.

So I gave the test to my dad.

When I gave it to him I felt sad, mad, and happy. After I gave it to him and he signed it, I felt happy. So I felt more calm after that.

One Response to “The Math Test”

  1. Norma April 12, 2013 at 2:13 am #

    I loved it o my litle writer

Leave a Reply

