Ditching

22 Aug

By Aiyana Spear
7th Grade

I was walking down the winding path in the woods when I saw it. A man lying in the clearing. He had matted black hair filled with blood, and his somewhat ratty clothes were covered in blood. His eyes were closed, and his chest was fluttering slightly. He was obviously still alive, but I knew that if he weren’t helped soon, he would die. He looked to be three years older than me, around twenty. I didn’t want to look, but I continued walking closer. I saw a cut across his stomach, another cut on his neck, and one on his thigh, all probably from a knife. He wouldn’t last long. He was lying face up, one of his arms at an odd angle. I was afraid of helping. I mean, I knew that I probably would mess something up or even kill him. I bit my lip, wondering what I should do.

I pulled out my phone, seeing if I had service. Surprisingly, I did. I debated with myself for a minute. If I did call 911, then they would help the man, but I would be caught and sent back to school, where they would find new ways to torment me. If I didn’t call 911, then the body wouldn’t be found until I don’t know when. Nobody came into the woods here. I battled with myself, not knowing what to do. Finally, I pressed the buttons. I told the operator the details and she said “they’d send somebody right out.”

I sat in a tree, waiting for the police to come. Once, I got a shock, seeing his chest stop moving, but right when I jumped down from the tree, it started again. I decided to stay on the ground after that. Finally, I heard them walking our way. They were rather loud, crashing into branches and stepping on twigs. Clumsy idiots. I looked up at them when they came into the clearing. They nodded at me and moved me away. There were five of them. One of them started inspecting the ground for footprints, two of them inspected the body, and the other two waited near me. For some reason , they didn’t seem to get that it was a knife. I heard them talking.

I decided to speak up: “You guys do know that it was a knife, right?”

They looked at me, shocked. “And how would you know that?” one of them asked me. He seemed like the leader.

I looked at him, surprised. “Why wouldn’t I know that? It’s obvious?” I said.

“How is it obvious?”

I rolled my eyes. “And that is exactly the reason I ran away from boarding school eight times,” I muttered. And then, louder, “I do a thing many people never learn: I observe. It was a knife. If you don’t believe me, ask a doctor.”

That finally got them into action, and they continued working. One man pulled out a stretcher and heaved the man onto it. They started walking, and I was told to come with them. I walked to the police car and got in. The ambulance screamed away, and I was driven to the police station.

I was led in, past the lobby and into an office. The office was stark, having only filing cabinets, a desk and two chairs. I was told to sit and wait. I sat there, looking around. There was a fly buzzing around one of the lights and a dark spot on the floor near the filing cabinets. I thought it was probably blood. Finally, a man came in. He was fat and bald, with brown eyes and a pudgy face. He walked over and sat in the other chair. He folded his arms over his massive belly.

“So.” He sat there, looking at me, not continuing. I waited impatiently for him to continue. “First off, your name. Your full name.”

I sighed. “Kismet Urania Solar.”

He smiled. “Lovely name.”

I nodded and he continued to interrogate me, mostly about how I found the body, and what position it was in, and did I ever touch it…millions of questions like that. Finally he sentenced me to a hearing, which meant another boarding school. I was about to open my mouth and argue, but he held up his hand and said, “That’s final.” I sighed, recognizing defeat. He led me into the lobby, where I was supposed to wait until the officer—who was going to board me until my hearing—finished work.

After 42 minutes I was taken to Officer Delmar’s home, where I was given food and a place to sleep by the lovely Mrs. Delmar. She was very kind about it all, and she seemed to understand that I was nervous about the hearing tomorrow. I slept well, and was woken by the fresh smell of pancakes. I was given nice clothes and then taken to court by Officer Delmar.

The courtroom was relaxed and calm, the judge chatting with one of the office lawyers. I don’t know that much about court or hearings, so I just sat in the place I was told to sit, watching. Finally, it started. The judge started asking me tons of questions, about how I find the man, why I was in the woods that day…you get the gist. She finished with me and started asking other people questions. I sorta zoned out, until I heard them talking about the body. I listened.

“Have you found the identity of the man?” the judge asked the doctor.

“Yes. His name was Erik Adon Solar,” the doctor said formally.

The judge looked at me sideways. “I see, and how was he killed?” I still listened, though I was kind of in shock about the guy’s identity.

“A knife to the throat, stomach, and inner thigh,” the doctor replied, and I smirked, pleased.

Finally, the judge was finished, and we were free to go. I was to go to boarding school the next day, as I already knew. I was taken out by Officer Delmar. In the car, he looked at me, curious. I sat there, quiet, until we reached his house.

“I didn’t know that he had been still alive. He was sent somewhere different from me when our father left. Do you think it’s possible that my sister might be alive as well?” I whispered, hopeful.

He looked at me. “It’s possible.” He smiled and rested a hand on my shoulder in a fatherly gesture.

I smiled at him and walked into the house. Mrs. Delmar smiled at me, but didn’t ask me questions, respecting my privacy. I smiled gratefully at her and walked into my room, wanting to be alone. She watched me go. I heard her whisper, “What happened?” when she thought I couldn’t hear. I shut the door and lay down on the bed, thinking.

I woke up to Mrs. Delmar shaking me away. I sighed and got ready. Officer Delmar was at the car, ready to go. I thanked Mrs. Delmar and walked out. The car ride was about four hours.

When we got there, I got out and sighed. He grabbed my bags and started up the path. It was a beautiful building, though it had an ominous feeling about it. It had ivy creeping up the walls, trapping people in. I sighed and stepped through the massive doors. It was surprisingly modern inside, kids filling the halls with chatter. I sighed again and walked to the office, where I got my room and class schedule. Officer Delmar left, smiling at me.

I found my dorm and started unpacking. When I finished I lay back on my bed, tired and annoyed. Suddenly, a girl raced inside. She looked around, and brightened when she saw me. “Hi! I heard my new roommate had arrived. I’m Nyla! Who are you?” she said very quickly, not stopping for breath.

I looked at her, somewhat startled. “I’m Kismet,” I said shyly.

She held out her hand. “Nice to meet you! My little sister’s name was Kismet,” she said only a little slower than before.

“What’s your last name?” I asked curiously, not believing my luck.

“I’m Nyla Daphne Solar,” she replied. My eyes widened. “What’s wrong?” she asked.

“My name is Kismet Urania Solar. I think I am your sister,” I replied, still shy.

She looked at me, her eyes wide. “Really? I thought I recognized you! Where on earth did they send you after dad left?” she asked, coming to sit by me and hug me.

I smiled. “I was sent to a boarding school. Then when I ran away from that one I was sent to another one. This is my ninth,” I said.

She laughed. “Wow. I was sent to this one, where I’ve been ever since then. I was planning to leave last year, but somebody convinced me to stay. Why did you run away?”

“Um, I was ostracized and I was too smart for them,” I replied.

“I’m sorry,” she said, sounding sincere.

I nodded and smiled at her.

She smiled back and stood up, pulling me with her. “Let’s go for a walk in the woods,” she said, and pulled me out of the room.

As we walked, we chatted for a while. I told her about our brother, and she became silent after that. I looked up at Nyla, happy. She wrapped an arm around my shoulders. We continued walking, not talking, just being peaceful in each other’s presence.

I looked at her sideways. “You’re said about him aren’t you?” I said.

She looked at me. “Yes, I am. Though we’d been separated since he left, I loved him.”

“I wish I remembered,” I said wistfully.

She smiled slightly. We continued walking into the forest behind the school. We didn’t notice anything. For once, I had turned my brain off, and I guess that was a mistake.

Suddenly, a man stepped out from behind a tree. We stopped, and he grinned evilly. He had dark brown hair, cold black eyes, and an unpleasant smile. He was tall and buff, and was carrying a knife. We backed away slowly, not knowing what to do. He advanced and grabbed Nyla by the warm. She tried to struggle, but he whispered something in her ear, making her stop. She looked at me with wide eyes, wondering what I was going to do, no doubt.

I advanced on the man and said through clenched teeth, “Let. My. Sister. Go.”

He laughed. “No. Now, where should I cut her first?” he asked. “Her pretty face? Her lovely hands? Or how about her legs?” he said, tapping each body part he mentioned with his knife.

“Let. Her. Go.” I said, my voice surprisingly steady, considering how scared I was.

He laughed again. “No. And I think I’ll cut her lovely face up first.”

I calculated what I could do, just as he started cutting Nyla’s cheeks. I decided to distract him. “You really shouldn’t leave your wife waiting. She’ll worry. And what about your car?” I said, not thinking it would work. He stopped and stared at me. “She thinks you are cheating on her, because you leave at night and don’t come back until morning. You can’t tell her you actually are going to kill people those nights, so she is going to divorce you. You still love her though,” I said, calculating his reactions.

He looked shocked that I knew those things. He seemed to zone out for a moment, and I decided to take me chances. I quickly pounced on the arm that was holding the knife and struggled to wrestle it out of his hand. He cut me a couple of times before I actually could take it, but finally I did. He looked at me, stunned that I had done that. In answer, I cut the arm holding Nyla, and he let go of her, covering his wound. She fell to the ground, but in seconds he stood up, ready to fight. He pulled out another knife. This one was bloody.

“How would you like to be killed with the same knife that killed your brother?” he asked, advancing on us.

Nyla and I both gasped at the same time. Our faces grew murderous. She quickly wrestled the other knife out of his grasp, and I cut every bit of him I could reach. Finally, we had the sense to run away. Except we didn’t go back to the school.

We tore through the town and ran to the airport, where we snuck onto a flight to Versailles. When we landed we tore through the airport and got into a taxi, using some money we had stolen. We told the hacker to take us to our aunt, who Nyla knew. He nodded and took us there.

Our aunt took us in, fed us, and cared for us. I went to a local school. Nyla took online courses at the university. I was happy, for the first time in my life, until the day I came home from school and my sister was lying on the couch with a cut throat. There was a note next to her body, and I opened it with trembling fingers. It read:

This is all your fault.

                                                KM

La Fin

Leave a Reply

