Why Music is Magical: A Present-Day Folktale

3 Apr

By Alyvia Gonzales

Life’s always the same: get up, go to work, go home. Of course, that’s not very different from anyone else in the world. The world has been this way since I can remember. My parents are probably the most boring people in our apartment. Can you believe people can be even more boring? Well, in my world creativity doesn’t exist.

I’m in history class right now. I go to New York School of Arts. Ha! Like art is even possible. We are learning about how cavemen used to make melodies using pots and pans. I realize now that that’s music. At least creativity and music used to exist. Maybe a long time ago, but they still did exist. That’s awesome to know.

“Maya-Ann!” the teacher calls. Uh-oh. I’m not paying attention. “Would you like to tell me what cavemen are doing in your textbook?” I guess I’m in trouble. “Well?” she said. Mrs. Kat is my worst teacher.

“Um,” is all I can come up with.

“That’s it! Go to the principal’s office!”

Mr Myer is the principle and he is quite boring. I’m not very afraid of him because I know what to expect.

I just got home. There is no way I’m going to mention Mr. Myer’s office to my parents. They would totally freak. I wonder how they would react if they were creative. Either way, they would probably be pretty furious. Lately I’ve been thinking about what it would be like to live in a world with creativity. I’m going to do something about this horrible world.

“I’m home,” calls Mom from the doorway. She’s wearing the same black skirt as always, with a white shirt and a black shawl. Compared to what I’m wearing – a blue shirt, polka-dot shorts, and green Converse – my mom is as boring as black and white. Although she does have one advantage: she doesn’t have to make her clothes. I do because mine are not sold in stores. I’m a limited edition.

Mom walks into the living room and sits down on the white sofa. She tells me to do my homework. “Now,” she says.

“Okay, I’m going.” Now that I’m on my way to my room I realize everything is the same two colors: black and white. How boring.

My room is a whole different story. My room is probably the coolest in the whole entire world. It’s painted blue and has green bedding with polka dots. My favorite flowers are orchids. They cover my room with colors such as pink and purple. I have all my artwork on the wall and a lot of pictures.

I know exactly how I’m going to get this world to change. My plan sounds crazy, but that doesn’t matter. I know I can change the world. Maybe I’m on my own, but I can do anything. With that decided, I’ll tell you my plan. This plan is something I can do on my own. I’m a pretty good artist and I can paint fairly quickly. So that’s how I came up with the plan to paint the school tie-dye.

It’s midnight and I’m sneaking out with four gallons of paint combined. My school is only a block away, so I won’t lose too much energy. I’m at the school. I hope there are no security cameras. I’m literally throwing the paint on the school. I’m going home again to get more paint.

Finally I’m finished. I think this place looks a lot better. I need to get home.

I’m on my way to school and I can already hear the gasps. Everyone is standing there like statues. I stroll into school and act as if nothing has happened. Then, out of nowhere, Mr. Meyer appears. He summons me to his office. In the office sit my parents with the look on their faces. They are playing a video of me painting the school. I’m dead, very dead. And don’t forget, grounded for life. I know this how? My parents are giving me the look: big eyebrows and a frown.

Well, now my parents won’t take their eyes off me. It’s been a week. I’ve been sitting in my room for three hours straight. I’m going to consider my life over. I think that after a few more months they will trust me. Although by then the school will be black again and no one will remember what happened. Time for a new plan.

The only way to change the world is using music, clearly. The school is cool and some kids do show up in color, but not enough. I only need to do one last big thing. All I need are some really large speakers and I’ll be ready to rock. Those speakers will play music and people will like it.

Over the past few days I have gotten five speakers with an incredibly loud volume. Now I have to get them on the roof. That will happen at three o’clock after school tomorrow. My plan has come together.

Here I am on the roof with five speakers. My head is covered in sweat. The speakers are heavy. I look down. There are at least two hundred people down there. It’s now or never. Here goes nothing. Bam! The music is playing, but people look confused. Wait. They are dancing. They look like they are having a great time. I can’t believe it. I’m so happy. I knew it. Music is magical.

The End

Leave a Reply

