Treasure

21 Mar

by Caity Henderson

The library bustled with people and ideas carefully embedded in the little splotches of ink, hidden within the greatest treasure of all: the book. Slowly, I walked down the steps until I found myself face to face with Twain, Dickens, and Hemingway, all conspicuously waving in my face and begging me to take them home to read them. Here were my future and dreams. Each book held memories and ideas, just waiting for me to grasp them and hold them close to my heart. Here was learning. I couldn’t wait.

I browsed the shelf, taking in each title. I carefully leafed through some books that caught my eye. Listening to the gentle ruffle of pages turning, I tried to glimpse the words with a small hope that I could get a clue to what was held within. Book after book I placed in my ever growing take-home pile. My eyes moved across page after page. Words flashed through my mind, pensive, omniscient, benevolent. Here I was, amidst the library. Hope flooded through every empty corner of my being. I had found my treasure.

2 Responses to “Treasure”

  1. Gretl Cox March 30, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    Caity, your grandmother who happens to be a librarian is proud of you!
    This is lovely. Hope you enjoyed your books.

  2. Bev Tuel April 2, 2012 at 3:07 am #

    I love this! Libraries are wonderful, and you’ve really made the experience come alive. Yeah for you! Yeah for libraries!

    I can’t wait to read your novel. 🙂

    Love, Bevie

Leave a Reply

