New Young Writers Always Welcome

18 Nov

Sofia Martinez makes her Young Writer Debut!

Dear Death,

I beg of you, don’t take me now! I haven’t seeked  the keys of life! My quest has not been finished. I’m not even at the peak of my fame! The first time you tried to take I fought and won the war while lying in the hospital’s bed.  You came to me in a dream and told me that it was time to go. You told me I must let go. But I can’t. I can’t let go of my words that rhyme. You can’t take me now! Look at all that I have accomplished. Please don’t ignore my medals and honors. You must listen!

Your cloaks of black have shadowed my life for many moons.  Your eyes are deep pools of pale milk. Only showing the people you have taken. Can’t you spare my life? I need only enough time to finish all the things I have started.  I plead of you oh mighty Death. Spare my life!

With much pride,

A sick poet

10 Responses to “New Young Writers Always Welcome”

  1. Blanca Guerrero November 18, 2011 at 2:43 am #

    Muchas felicidades Sofia!!!!! eres toda una escritora, sigue esforzandote y estoy segura que un día podré comprar un libro escrito por ti.

    That was amazing!!!!!!!!

    • Sofia Martinez December 3, 2011 at 2:17 am #

      Thank you Blanca!
      Hope to see you soon
      Sofia

  2. Sandra Martínez November 18, 2011 at 6:11 am #

    This is just great. Congratulation!!!

    • Sofia Martinez December 3, 2011 at 2:18 am #

      Muchas gracias! I miss you and Hope to see you soon!
      Sofia

  3. Larissa Reyes November 18, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    I love it, you are the best!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Love you and miss you a lot!.
    Tia Larissa

    • Sofia Martinez December 3, 2011 at 2:19 am #

      Thank you tia! I hope to be seeing you around Christmas!

      Sofia

  4. Susi Chavez November 18, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    Wow! Very deep. Awesome poem Sofi, keep up the good work!
    Xoxo,
    Your favorite cousin Susi ❤

    • Sofia Martinez December 3, 2011 at 2:22 am #

      Thank you for the comment. I hope to hear from you soon!

      From your favorite cousin, Sofia ❤ (;

  5. Carolyn November 24, 2011 at 12:09 am #

    Dear Sofia,
    You have a special talent! As I read your “letter,” I felt as if I were the person begging death to hold off for a while. Your words let your reader really FEEL the emotion expressed by the letter writer. One thing that interests me is that the letter-writer (you or an imaginary sick person?) doesn’t express FEAR of DEATH but expresses JOY for LIFE, and just doesn’t have time for death because she/he has too many things she wants to do! So while the subject of “death” can seem depressing to some people, I think your writing says “life is good” (“so let me keep living”). A question for you: what inspired you to write about death? Were you once very sick in a hospital?
    Your tia Carolyn (your grandmother’s sister)

    • Sofia Martinez December 3, 2011 at 2:15 am #

      Hi Tia Carolyn, thank you so much for the sweet comment. And no, I have never had to go to a hospital because I was about to die, in that matter, I havent had to go to the hospital at all!(Thank goodness) I got inspired by one of my dad’s good friend’s. His name is Ingmar and he has cancer. The docter’s said that it is only a matter of weeks before he might die. He is always on the go, and even when the docter’s said he had cancer, he didn’t stop doing what he loved. He has so many unfinished journeys that I thought I should write a letter to Death as I would feel if I was about to die. Thank you again for the comment and hope to hear from you soon
      Love,
      Sofia

Leave a Reply

